How to Become a Pet Pig Foster Mom

February 18, 2013 at 9:27 pm | Posted in Pig Rescue Organizations | 3 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

Lately I’ve been thinking more and more about following through on one of my life long dreams; to own a pet pig (*). I’ve had many questions about pet pig ownership, some already answered through simple researching. But I still lack the confidence to move forward.

Tex-Dworkin

Here’s me pondering pig fostering

This Wednesday I am actually trying out dog fostering for the first time through Wonder Dog Rescue, a terrific San Francisco-based organization that goes to high kill shelters and saves pups, matching them up with foster parents until the dogs find their forever homes with adopters. (I won’t even know what doggie I’m getting until Wednesday. Exciting, huh?!)

The system really seems to work; folks who cannot commit to adopting a dog can help the cause by fostering (or donating, of course.) Dogs who were once set to be euthanized are saved, and the mobile weekend adoptions match the rescued pooches with new families. Win Win!

The organization provides foster parents with food, collar, even puppy training pads, eliminating restrictive costs from the equation.

Wilbur at 3 months, the day I adopted him

Wilbur at 3 months, the day I adopted him

I chose to foster a dog because, like many people, dog euthanasia really bums me out. But also because I have one dog already (Wilbur, whom I adopted from Wonder Dog) and I want to make sure having a second dog will fit into our lives in a positive way. So fostering seemed like the perfect solution.

So back to my questions; are there any pig rescue organizations in the US (preferably in Northern California) that have foster programs? Or is the very idea of this not a good one for reasons I’m unaware?

Please chime in if you are:

  • aware of any organizations who offer pig fostering;
  • from a pet pig rescue organization with an opinion about whether or not fostering is a viable solution to the problem of unwanted piggies;
  • a pet pig owner who has any advice for a gal considering pet pig ownership.

Thanks Pig Lovers!

*Full disclosure: The truth is I DID own a pig once, but it was not a pot bellied pig. In fact, it was not bred to be a pet pig at all. It was gifted to me when I was a teen by a couple of friends and I only had him for a few months or so before finding him a proper home at a local farm. It’s a long (and funny) story perhaps I’ll share with you one day. In the meantime, for the record I do not count that fleeting moment as pet pig ownership:)

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey my friend. I ran across your page today from a friend. I’m a miniature pot bellied pig. I’ve trained my human over the years. You must come check me out on my blog. Love to hear from you. XOXO – Bacon

  2. You should definitely get a pig. My boyfriend and I have one and love Jace to pieces.They are passive, intelligent , and loving animals. I would not trade him for the world.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

